10th Annual Peter Benchley Ocean Awards Honors 2017 Winners

On Thursday, May 11th, 2017 at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of Natural History in Washington, D.C., The Blue Frontier celebrated the 10th Annual Peter Benchley Ocean Awards to acknowledge outstanding achievement for the protection of our ocean, coasts and the communities that depend on them.

Co-founded by Wendy Benchley and David Helvarg, and named in honor of Peter Benchley, author of the novel and co-author of the screenplay for “Jaws”, the Award celebrates the life and legacy of a man who spent more than 40 years educating the public and expanding awareness of the importance of protecting sharks and ocean ecosystems.  To date fifty-five Benchley Ocean Award honorees have been recognized for excellence and achievement in nine areas of excellence.

This year’s winners include Susi Pudjiastuti for Excellence in National Stewardship; Joshua S. Reichert and the Pew Charitable Trusts’ Ocean Group for Sustained Ocean Achievement; Dr. Ben Halpernand Dr. Ussif Rashid Sumaila for Excellence in Science; US Senator, Richard Blumenthal and US Senator, Brian Schatz for Excellence in Policy; One World One Ocean for Excellence in Media; Rhode Island Ocean Special Area Management Planning Team & The Mid-Atlantic and Northeast Regional Planning Bodies for Excellence in Solutions; Carter and Olivia Ries for Christopher Benchley Youth Award; Robin Alden and The Penobscot Resource Center for Hero of the Seas Award.

The Peter Benchley Ocean Awards were made possible in part by a grant from The Baum Foundation.


View All Highlights